Countries, States & Cities
A portal to multimedia collections about Africa.
Measure of American sentiment that values the American Dream on a monthly basis.
Provides information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
This British site provides news and analysis of problems facing the world's cities. Site also contains statistics and rankings for world cities.
Statistical data on United States cities and towns.
Country risk snapshots.
Constitute offers access to the worldâ€™s constitutions so that users can systematically compare them across a broad set of topics â€” using an inviting, clean interface.
Compiles all the different provisions related to gender contained in constitutions in countries around the world, available in the original language, along with English translations.
The CPI ranks 180 countries by their perceived levels of corruption, as determined by expert assessments and opinion surveys.
The Knowledge Center is an interactive policy tool that provides access to policy briefs, statistical information, and an extensive collection of past editions of "The Book of the States".
Facts and cultural information on the countries of the world.
Measures vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America.
Overviews of life and customs in 100 countries, provided by Citizenship and Immigration Canada.
Provides basic cultural tips as well as information relevant to conducting business or studying in various countries.
Project that aims to provide data about African countries that are south of the Sahara. Contains information about agricultural output, climate, health (including a number of statistics about the health of children in each country), and poverty rates.
A customized dataset created by EIG examining economic distress throughout the country and made up of interactive maps, infographics, and a report. It captures data from more than 25,000 zip codes (those with populations over 500 people).
Links to guides that provide general information about legal and business infrastructures in foreign countries.
Tracks the level of trust in the global institutions of business, government, media, and non-governmental organizations.
Profiles of cities and counties across the United States.
Measures the upward mobility of children in the bottom fifth of U.S. households using big data.
An extensive compendium of state information from basic facts such as listings of official state birds and songs to the steps involved in obtaining public records.
A guide to a wide array of authoritative web resources on the countries & IGOs of the world.
Ranking of the American states based on how their policies promote freedom in the fiscal, regulatory and personal realms.
Comparative assessment of political rights and civil liberties in over 190 countries; produced by Freedom House.
Comparative information on countries and cities of the world.
Ranks countries by how well their ageing populations are faring. It is based on four domains that are key enablers of older people's wellbeing: income, health, employment and education, and enabling environment.
The global Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI) is an international measure of acute poverty covering over 100 developing countries.
Provides the most comprehensive snapshot available of the global state of open data.
Evaluates and ranks the major cities of the world according to their magnetism", i.e. their comprehensive power which allows them to attract creative individuals and business enterprises."
Includes country profiles and useful business resources.
Aggregate historical index of human development (HIHD) and each of its dimensions across world regions and countries.
Macroeconomic and social statistics for many countries with sources available.
Ranks 50 leading countries according to 20 indicators of economic and noneconomic prosperity.
Guides linked from this page compile digital materials that are available throughout the Library’s Web site.
Estimates the cost of living by community/county or region. The calculator lists typical expenses, the living wage and typical wages for the selected location.
Online travel guides; provides brief country information, travel stories, blogs, and more.
The Urban Institute's report card and toolkit for researchers, students, journalists, elected officials and the public on the state of metropolitan economies.
Information on counties, such as county officials, courthouse addresses, county seats, cities within a county as well as various statistical and geographical information.
Provides CIO contact information, professional biographies, state government links, and state statistics.
Maintains legislative tracking databases regarding public health issues such as criminal justice, education, employment policy, immigrant policy, transportation, health care access, and public health.
Graphically compare nations based on data from the CIA World Factbook.
Presents data and ratings on indicators related to "material living conditions & quality of life" for OECD countries, as well as for Brazil and Russia.
Links to city homepages in many countries including the United States & Canada.
The Self-Sufficiency Standard defines the amount of income necessary to meet basic needs without public subsidies (e.g.food stamps) and without private/informal assistance. The Standard can be found in 37 states and the District of Columbia
Provides an authoritative view of a country's social and environmental strengths and weaknesses.
For anyone trying to compare places to live on a number of categories such as crime, cost of living, climate, cultural institutions, etc.
A huge number of government resources on all level of government from states to villages.
Links to publicly accessible state agency databases.
Profiles of the health status of individual states including state comparisions.
Extensive list of state data available online.
Offer topic profiles for doing business in specific countries and Compares countries on various topics.
Contains links to websites concerning criminal justice, including a section on statistical resources.
Systematic study of governance quality in over 200 countries; produced by the World Bank.