Dictionaries & Languages
Online multilingual dictionaries
Free dictionaries from Collins (English, French, German & Spanish).
Comprehensive listinging of information about the living languages of the world.
Animated images visually portray the evolution of historically important alphabets.
A site that claims to be "the largest pronunciation guide in the world."
Extensive glossary of poetry terms from the Poetry Foundation.
A large historical dictionary of English slang.
Contains almost 800,000 words from Old English to the present day arranged into detailed hierarchies within broad conceptual categories such as Thought or Music.
Large collection of foreign language media materials geared toward students preparing to study abroad & scholars pursuing independent study.
Searchable directory to more than 6,000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries.
Easily explore and map the inguistic diversity of the United States.
This site contains thousands of definitions about computers, the Internet, and the online world of business, technology & communication.
A guide to over 200 writing systems worldwide.
Searches over 100 online dictionaries.
This utility will find words with any combination of listed parameters. For example, you can find all 6 letter words that start with d" and end with "n". Find words that rhyme by searching for words that end with the same letters."
Traces the development of words in English over time.
Poetry.net is a huge collection of poems from famous and not-so-famous poets from around the world.
Free dictionary for translating into many foreign languages.
A crowdsourced thesaurus.
Look up synonyms using the third edition (1996) of this classic thesaurus.
Resource for English synonyms, antonyms, and definitions.
Contains English language medical, legal, financial, and computer dictionaries, plus a thesaurus, acronyms dictionary, and encyclopedias.
Slang dictionary with user-created definitions.
VADA is a video archive of English-language accents and dialects gathered from around the globe, providing visual information on language sound pronunciation for the theater community.
Definitions of "more 20,000 terms ... [and] more than 6,000 stunning illustrations of a wide variety of objects from all aspects of life."
Translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish.
An incredible array of English and foreign language dictionaries and grammars and much more. Includes an online version of the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 4th edition.