Skip to Content

Mikhashoff (Yvar) Collection of Tangos, 1983-1991 (Mus. Arc. 1.10)

The collection contains photocopies of musical scores for 127 tangos for solo piano from 127 composers. The collection also documents the process by which Mikhashoff commissioned and performed the tangos. It includes correspondence, Mikhashoff's research into the history of the tango, and performance materials (i.e. programs and reviews). Composers commissioned for this project include Milton Babbitt, Lukas Foss, Otto Luening, Conlon Nancarrow, Luis de Pablo, and Nils Vigeland.

Location: Music library Storage
Resource Type: Archival
Subject Name: Mikhashoff, Yvar
Material Type: Scores
Topics: Music--20th century ; Musicians--UB